Priyanka Chopra TIFF

TIFF® and Instagram today announced the addition of actor, director, and writer James Franco (Every Thing Will Be Fine, 127 Hours) (@jamesfrancotv); actor Priyanka Chopra (Quantico,Baywatch, Bajirao Mastani) (@priyankachopra); and cinematographer Ben Richardson (The Fault in Our Stars, Beasts of the Southern Wild) (@benrichardson) to the TIFFxInstagram Shorts Festival seven-person jury. They join previously announced judges, director Ava DuVernay (Selma) (@directher); writer and director Xavier Dolan (Mommy, I Killed My Mother) (@xavierdolan); music video director and photographer Nabil Elderkin (Kanye West “Mercy”, John Legend “All of Me”) (@nabildo); and stop-motion animation artist Rachel Ryle (@rachelryle). Together, they will select one winner for the Judge’s Choice Award.

In addition to the jury award, online audiences can vote for their favourite film by liking it on Instagram. Voting closes August 17. The film with the most “likes” will receive the Fan Favourite Award. Awards will be announced August 18.

Judge’s Choice and Fan Favourite award-winners will receive a trip to Toronto to attend the Toronto International Film Festival this September. Winners will have a chance to network with the film community at our popular Industry Conference, see a selection of exciting film premieres, and visit the Facebook/Instagram Canada offices for a meet-and-greet with key members of the team. Winners will also have their short films showcased on TIFF and Instagram’s digital channels.

Competition is open until July 20, 2016. To submit, upload your entry on Instagram with the hashtag #TIFFxInstagram and complete the submission form at