Mad Max Fury Road

Mad Max: Fury Road won Best Picture from the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS), which myself and fellow site contributor Daniel Lackey are members of, as the group celebrated its 19th awards.

Starring Tom Hardy as the title character alongside OFCS nominee Charlize Theron, Mad Max: Fury Road is about a post-apocalyptic world where water scarcity has led to intense conflicts. The film received three other awards from the OFCS including Best Director for George Miller, Best Editing and Best Cinematography.

Taking home three awards this year, Carol, a drama about a female clerk who falls in love with an older woman in the 1950s, claimed the awards for Best Actress (Cate Blanchett), Best Supporting Actress (Rooney Mara) and Best Adapted Screenplay.

Other films walking away with prizes included Pixar feature Inside Out, which won Best Animated Feature. Steve Jobs’ Michael Fassbender earned the award for Best Actor while Oscar Isaac received the award for Best Supporting Actor in Ex Machina. Spotlight, a film about the exposure of child sex abuse in the Catholic Church, was presented the award for Best Original Screenplay.

The Look of Silence received the award for Best Documentary while The Assassin, Taiwan’s official entry to the Academy Awards for Best Foreign Language, won the corresponding award from the OFCS.

Because the organization is composed of members from across the globe, the group also recognizes films that have not yet been released in the United States. The honorees in that category this year were Aferim!, Cemetery of Splendor, The Club, Dheepan, The Lobster, Mountains May Depart, Mia Madre, Rams, Right Now, Wrong Then, and The Sunset Song.

The OFCS has nominated the eventual Oscar winner for Best Picture in eight of the last ten years; matching Oscar winners 12 Years a Slave (2013), The Hurt Locker (2009), No Country for Old Men (2007) and Argo (2012), becoming the first major critics group to recognize Ben Affleck’s future Academy Award recipient.

“Our organization is excited to recognize so many unique and interesting films,” the OFCS Governing Committee members John Hanlon, Wesley Lovell and Cole Smithey said about the eclectic mix of winners.

Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society is the world’s oldest and most prominent group for online film critics, comprised of 254 members representing 22 different countries.

The full list of winners can be found below.

Best Picture:
Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Animated Feature:
Inside Out

Best Film Not in the English Language:
The Assassin (Taiwan)

Best Documentary:
The Look of Silence

Best Director:
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actor:
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)

Best Actress:
Cate Blanchett (Carol)

Best Supporting Actor:
Oscar Isaac (Ex Machina)

Best Supporting Actress:
Rooney Mara (Carol)

Best Original Screenplay:
Spotlight (Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Carol (Phyllis Nagy)

Best Editing:
Mad Max: Fury Road (Margaret Sixel)

Best Cinematography:
Mad Max: Fury Road (John Seale)

Non-U.S. Release (Alphabetical Order):
Cemetery of Splendor
The Club
The Lobster
Mountains May Depart
Mia Madre
Right Now, Wrong Then
The Sunset Song


  1. Very glad to see Mad Max get rewarded. Now if only Anomalisa had won best animated! No disrespect to Inside Out intended, but Anomalisa was unbelievably good.

    1. I was pulling for Anomalisa in the animated category but I do not think enough voters have seen it yet. That is one of the downsides of the film being released so late in the year.

      1. That’s understandable. That will make it even harder for Anomalisa to compete with Inside Out, and it’s already at a big disadvantage since (a) Inside Out is a very good Pixar piece; and (b) Anomalisa is far from typical animated fare.

Comments are closed.